Comparison · Transactional

Balikbayan box UK to Philippines price: six couriers' posted rates compared (2026)

Checked

On 19 October 2026, Pooten Forwarding’s own price page listed its Standard box (20×16×24 in) at £75 from London to Metro Manila, and £85 when the box is collected outside London. Balikbayan Box UK and Highlight Express post the same £75 for their standard-size box from London to Metro Manila, while the largest boxes on the six courier sites checked run to £185 (Highlight Express’s Ultra Jumbo to Mindanao or Palawan).

Every price below is copied from the courier’s own website on 19 October 2026, with any “effective” or “valid from” note the courier prints beside it. Prices are per box, door to door, in pounds sterling, for a London collection unless the row says otherwise.

UK balikbayan box prices by courier, London collection, per box (couriers listed alphabetically; checked 2026-10-19) Posted terms — see sources
CourierBox (posted size, inches)Metro ManilaVisayasMindanaoCollected outside LondonCourier's own note
Balikbayan Box UKRegular/Medium 20×24×16£75£90£95not in the posted tableGreater London 'basic prices', 'valid from April 2025'
Balikbayan Box UKJumbo Max 34×26×22£140£170£175not in the posted tableoff sizes charged per cubic foot
Forex Cargo UKMedium (size not posted)area not statedarea not statedarea not stated£60 with any bigger box (rest of UK)promo, Greater London: £50 with any bigger box, destination not stated; valid for collections 1–31 October 2026; other boxes priced by on-site calculator
Highlight ExpressMedium 24×20×16 (4.5 cu ft)£75£100£100surcharge applies, amount not posted'London prices only'; page shows 'price adjustment effective January 2024' and 'effective March 2023' notes
Highlight ExpressUltra Jumbo 38×26×26 (15 cu ft)£165£180£185 (incl. Palawan)surcharge applies, amount not postedtwin promo '2 for £250' to Metro Manila, no bulilit box
LBC Express UKMedium (size not posted)£50 'starts at', sea, within Manilanot postednot postednot postedrates computed on weight and destination
LT ExpressGrande 30×22×20£75 (Luzon)£85 (Vis-Min)£85 (Vis-Min)£85 Luzon / £95 Vis-Min'2026 Price List & Rates'
LT ExpressSopra (Mega) 34×22×27£135 (Luzon)£145 (Vis-Min)£145 (Vis-Min)£145 Luzon / £155 Vis-Minfree Piccola box included
Pooten ForwardingStandard 20×16×24 (4.5 cu ft)£75 (Zone 1)£100£100£85 (Zone 1)Zone 1 = Metro Manila, Bulacan, Rizal and most of Luzon
Pooten ForwardingSuper Jumbo 34×22×26 (11.5 cu ft)£140 (Zone 1)£165£170£150 (Zone 1)Scotland, Isle of Wight and other distant areas: contact for rates
Each figure is from the courier's own website on 2026-10-19. 'Metro Manila' is LT Express's Luzon price and Pooten's Zone 1 price, since those couriers price Luzon as one area. 'Not posted' means the figure is absent from the courier's public pages on that date; confirm it with the courier in writing. The Forex Cargo UK promo ends on 31 October 2026.

Same box, different island

The widest price spread on the table comes from the Philippine address. Highlight Express prints its whole board across seven delivery areas, so the same Medium box can be followed from Metro Manila to Mindanao.

Highlight Express Medium box (24×20×16 in), London collection, by Philippine delivery area Posted terms — see sources

£ per box, door to door, courier's posted price

Highlight Express own price page, checked 2026-10-19. London prices only; the page states a surcharge applies for collections outside London and carries 'price adjustment effective January 2024' and 'effective March 2023' notes.

The jump is £25 from Metro Manila to the Visayas on that board. Balikbayan Box UK’s gap for its Regular box is £15 (£75 to £90), and Pooten’s is £25 (£75 to £100). LT Express keeps two prices only, Luzon and Vis-Min, £10 apart on every single box.

Provincial Luzon sits in between, and couriers draw the line in different places. Balikbayan Box UK charges £80 for the Regular box to its Area 1 (Batangas, Cavite, Laguna, Pampanga, Pangasinan and others) and £85 to Area 2 (Isabela, Cagayan Valley, Ilocos Norte, Sorsogon and others). Pooten puts Bicol, Cagayan Valley and Apayao in a Zone 2 at £85 for its Standard box. Balikbayan Box UK’s own table also lists areas it does not serve, among them Basilan, Batanes, El Nido, Coron, Siargao, Sulu and Tawi-Tawi.

The biggest box each courier posts

At the top end the boxes are different sizes, so the bars below rank posted prices, with the cubic feet beside each name.

Largest posted box, London collection, to Metro Manila or Luzon Posted terms — see sources

£ per box, door to door, courier's posted price

Each courier's own price page, checked 2026-10-19. Highlight Express's Ultra Jumbo is the largest box here by volume. Balikbayan Box UK's table says 'valid from April 2025'; Highlight Express's page carries 'effective January 2024' and 'effective March 2023' notes.

Bundles change the per-box arithmetic. Highlight Express lists “2 for £250” for two Ultra Jumbos to Metro Manila, without the small bulilit box that comes with a single one. LT Express lists three Grande boxes for £200 to Luzon from Greater London, and Pooten lists three Standard boxes for £145 from London to Zone 1. None of these multi-box prices is a single-box price, and each comes with the courier’s own conditions printed beside it.

Outside London

Where the box is collected changes the price too. Two couriers print their outside-London prices in full: LT Express adds £10 to each single box it lists for “Outside London / Countryside” (a Grande to Luzon goes from £75 to £85), while its multi-box bundles rise by £20 to £30, and Pooten adds £10 to its Zone 1 Standard box (£75 to £85) and £10 to its Super Jumbo (£140 to £150). Forex Cargo UK’s promo for collections from 1 to 31 October 2026 is £50 in Greater London and £60 for the rest of the UK, with no destination area stated.

Highlight Express says only that a surcharge applies outside London. Balikbayan Box UK’s table is headed “Greater London”, and its own sheet lists local collections every week and countryside collections every other week. Pooten notes that Scotland, the Isle of Wight and other distant areas “may have adjusted pricing” and asks senders to contact it for exact rates.

Posted transit times

Three of the six couriers post a UK-to-Philippines window on their own sites. Their start and end points differ, which the labels below spell out.

Posted UK to Philippines transit, by courier (weeks; posted windows ordered by upper bound, longest first, then couriers with none, alphabetically) Posted terms — see sources
Courier FAQ pages checked 2026-10-19: Balikbayan Box UK FAQ, Pooten Forwarding FAQs, LT Express FAQ, LBC Express UK shipping services. Each is the courier's own estimate. LT Express's sea aim is 'within 3 months after leaving UK Port'. Pooten's FAQ attributes its longer times to vessels sailing around Africa to avoid the Suez route.

Balikbayan Box UK’s 14 to 16 weeks counts port to port, so its door-to-door total is longer once the Bureau of Customs release and the final leg are added: about 5 to 7 days after release for Metro Manila, 7 to 12 for North and Central Luzon, 10 to 14 for Southern Tagalog and Bicol, and 15 to 21 for the Visayas, Mindanao and Palawan. Pooten’s window starts in the UK and ends in Central Luzon. The December dates on this route, including the Post Office’s last posting day for the Philippines, are on the UK Christmas 2026 cut-off page.

Weight, compensation and accreditation

Five of the six couriers price by box size; LBC Express UK says it computes its rates on weight and destination. Only two post a weight figure at all. The other posted terms that differ between quotes are the compensation cap and whether the courier appears on the Philippine DTI list of accredited forwarders’ UK agents.

Other posted terms by courier (alphabetical; checked 2026-10-19) Posted terms — see sources
CourierWeight termsCompensation cap (courier's own wording)Collections / sailingsDTI-FTEB UK list, as of 31 Aug 2026
Balikbayan Box UK'no weight limit', suggests max 80 kg for the Jumbo Max boxnot posted on the pages checkedlocal collections every week, countryside every other week; 40 ft container 'at least every 2 weeks'listed: Balikbayan Box UK Ltd. (Staffordshire), PH partner 12:24 Cargo Express Corp., expiry 02-Aug-31
Forex Cargo UKnot postedUSD 200 jumbo, USD 150 large, USD 100 medium, USD 50 bulilit, or the actual loss if lower (T&C §5)not postedlisted: Forex Cargo UK Co. Ltd. (London, PH partner Oceanlight Cargo Forwarding, expiry 28-Jun-31; Middlesex, PH partner U MAC Forwarders Express, expiry 28-Jan-30)
Highlight Expressnot posted'$250 per package unless declared paid corresponding insurance premiums'not postednot found under this name; confirm with DTI-FTEB
LBC Express UKsea 'without worrying about the weight'; rates computed on weightnot posted on the page checked'weekly shipment from UK to the Philippines'listed: LBC Express Ltd. (London), PH partner LBC Express, Inc., expiry 13-Apr-31
LT Expressnot posted'maximum of $150 per box'not postedlisted: Lt Express Limited (London), PH partner Ex Speed Cargo Delivery Philippines Inc., expiry 23-Sep-30
Pooten Forwardingno weight restriction; no box over 50 kgforce-majeure loss: £100 standard or off-size, £125 large, £150 jumbo, £175 super jumbo, inclusive of shipping chargenot postedlisted: Pooten Forwarding Int'l. Ltd (London), PH partner Odani Logistic Corp., expiry 28-Sep-30
Courier terms from each courier's own FAQ or terms page, 2026-10-19. Accreditation column from the DTI Fair Trade Enforcement Bureau UK file 'List of FTEB-Accredited Sea Freight Forwarders and their Foreign Agents Sending Balikbayan Box Shipments, as of 31 August 2026' (newest posted). The list names companies, so a trading name that differs from the registered one may not appear; a missing name is a question for DTI-FTEB.

The caps are in different currencies: Forex Cargo UK states US dollars, Pooten states pounds, and LT Express and Highlight Express print a dollar sign without naming the dollar. Highlight Express counts per package, the others per box. Pooten’s cap covers loss “due to force majeure or an ‘Act of God’” and includes the shipping charge. Highlight Express ties a higher cover to a declared insurance premium. Claims windows are posted too: 30 days from acceptance at Highlight Express and 30 days from delivery at Forex Cargo UK.

On the pages checked, Pooten posts payment terms and Forex Cargo UK posts abandonment terms. Pooten takes cash on collection, phone payment or bank transfer, asks for full payment at collection, and says unpaid boxes may be delayed. Forex Cargo UK’s terms treat a box as abandoned when the consignee has not claimed it at the courier’s designated warehouse within two months of a failed delivery attempt, and exclude commercial goods, defined as “more than a dozen of any kind”.

The DTI-FTEB list is the public check for whether a UK forwarder sends boxes through an accredited Philippine partner. Its UK file dated 31 August 2026 has 12 entries. Two carry 2026 expiry dates: Globelink Fallow (22 September 2026, already past on 19 October 2026) and Trico Freight UK (11 December 2026). The full set of checks, including Companies House, is on how to vet a UK balikbayan box courier.

Smaller sends by post

For a few kilos, the Post Office prices by weight to the Philippines (Royal Mail Zone 2), and LBC Express UK posts a £20 flat rate for a 1 kg air package.

Parcel prices to the Philippines from the UK (checked 2026-10-19) Posted terms — see sources
ServiceWeightPricePosted terms
Royal Mail International Economy2 kg£36.35'Delivery to South America, Africa and Asia in up to 8 weeks'; £20 compensation included
Parcelforce globalpriority500 g£49.40parcels up to 30 kg
Parcelforce globalpriority2 kg£63.95parcels up to 30 kg
Parcelforce globalpriority5 kg£108.77parcels up to 30 kg
Parcelforce globalpriority10 kg£157.47parcels up to 30 kg
LBC Express UK, air1 kg£20 flatcourier's own 'starting' rate
Post Office service pages for the Philippines (Royal Mail International Economy; Parcelforce Worldwide globalpriority) and LBC Express UK shipping services, all checked 2026-10-19. Post Office prices are those listed on its service pages for the weight shown.

At 10 kg, Parcelforce’s £157.47 is more than every posted price for a standard balikbayan box on this page. The box couriers publish no weight basis, so no per-kg figure can be set against the post.

Box size and the customs definition

CAO 01-2018 §3.2 reads: “Balikbayan Box — shall refer to a corrugated box or other container or receptacle up to a maximum volume of two hundred thousand (200,000) gross cubic centimeters without regard as to the shape of the container or receptacle.” The couriers post their boxes in inches, so the volumes below are arithmetic on those posted dimensions.

Posted box dimensions converted to cubic centimetres (derived, not posted) Illustrative example — not posted rates
Posted size (inches)Boxes of this sizeVolume (derived)
20×24×16Balikbayan Box UK Regular/Medium; Highlight Express Medium; Pooten Standard; LT Express Medio125,853 cm³
21×28×21Balikbayan Box UK Family202,347 cm³
30×22×20LT Express Grande; Pooten Large216,309 cm³
24×24×24Balikbayan Box UK Large; Highlight Express Large226,535 cm³
29×22×27LT Express Venti (Jumbo)282,284 cm³
29×26×23Balikbayan Box UK Jumbo; Highlight Express Super Jumbo; Pooten Jumbo284,184 cm³
34×26×22Balikbayan Box UK Jumbo Max; Pooten Super Jumbo (34×22×26)318,696 cm³
34×22×27LT Express Sopra (Mega)330,953 cm³
34×26×23Highlight Express Mega Jumbo333,182 cm³
38×26×26Highlight Express Ultra Jumbo420,951 cm³
Derived: length × width × height in cubic inches × 16.387064. Couriers do not say whether their dimensions are inside or outside measurements. How the Bureau of Customs assesses a given shipment is its own determination; confirm with the Bureau of Customs or the courier.

By that arithmetic the 4.5 cubic foot standard box comes to about 125,900 cm³, and the other posted sizes run from about 202,300 to 421,000 cm³. §3.2 is a definition. Section 7 of the same order, which lists the shipments excluded from the duty and tax exemption, names value, frequency, commercial quantity, regulated goods, donations, mixed containers and missing sender documents; it does not name box size or volume.

The customs ceiling over every UK box

The Philippine side of the cost runs on the sender’s calendar year, whichever courier carries the box and wherever in the UK it was collected.

Bureau of Customs duty- and tax-free terms for balikbayan boxes, per sender, per calendar year Posted terms — see sources
RulePosted termSource
Value ceilingTotal FCA value for all balikbayan boxes per sender in any calendar year shall not exceed ₱150,000CAO 01-2018 §4.2
Times per yearPrivilege may be availed up to three (3) times in a calendar yearCAO 01-2018 §4.1
One availmentBoxes in one consolidated shipment covered by one master bill of lading or master air waybill count as one availment, regardless of the number of boxesCAO 01-2018 §4.6
₱10,000 de minimisA shipment above the ₱10,000 de minimis value is automatically considered one availment; this is a separate threshold from the ₱150,000 ceilingCAO 01-2018 §4.1
Excess valueAny amount in excess of the allowable non-dutiable and non-taxable value is subject to the applicable duties and taxesCAO 01-2018 §3.1
Who qualifiesLimited to Qualified Filipinos While Abroad; sole proprietorships and juridical entities sending boxes are not qualifiedCAO 01-2018 §4.3
Processing charge₱125.00 per house bill of lading or house air waybill, inclusive of ₱15.00 documentary stamps and a ₱10.00 legal research feeCAO 01-2018 §4.9
Bureau of Customs, CAO 01-2018 master copy on customs.gov.ph, scanned PDF read page by page, checked 2026-10-19. FCA (Free Carrier) is the value basis defined in §3.11.

The ceiling works as a yearly budget per sender. Three boxes at ₱60,000 each come to ₱180,000 of FCA value in one calendar year, past ₱150,000 though no single box is near it. The value cap and the three-availment cap bind independently, so either can run out first. The full scope is on the balikbayan box tax-free limit, and who counts as a qualified sender is on who qualifies for the tax-free box.

Cash is its own question, apart from cover and the customs allowance. The Bureau of Customs lists “currencies, checks, money orders and traveller’s checks” first on its list of items not allowed in a balikbayan box (BOC FAQ id=40, checked 19 October 2026). LT Express’s FAQ lists “cash or negotiable instruments” among prohibited items, and Forex Cargo UK’s terms say it will not carry currency or money orders. Sending pounds by transfer instead is compared on UK to Philippines remittance costs.

Reading a quote against this table

A written quote for a UK box carries more lines than the headline price: the box size in inches, the collection postcode, the Philippine delivery area, sea or air, any bundle or promo condition, and the compensation cap. Matching those six lines across two or three couriers on the same day gives a like-for-like figure in GBP.

Box sizes and the weights couriers allow are compared across corridors on box weight and size limits by courier, and what can go inside is on what you can and can’t pack. For the same comparison from the United States, see courier rates US to Philippines, and for a first box start to finish, see the first-box checklist.

Questions, answered

How much is a balikbayan box from the UK to the Philippines in 2026?
On their own websites on 19 October 2026, Balikbayan Box UK, Highlight Express and Pooten Forwarding each listed £75 for a standard box of about 4.5 cubic feet collected in London and delivered to Metro Manila. LT Express listed £75 for its larger Grande box to Luzon from Greater London. The biggest boxes ran from £135 (LT Express Sopra, Luzon) to £165 (Highlight Express Ultra Jumbo, Metro Manila), and up to £185 for the Ultra Jumbo to Mindanao or Palawan. Highlight Express's page carries a 'price adjustment effective January 2024' note, and Balikbayan Box UK's table says 'valid from April 2025'.
Which UK balikbayan box courier is cheapest?
It changes with the box size, the UK collection area and the Philippine region. On 19 October 2026 a standard box from London to Metro Manila was £75 at Balikbayan Box UK, Highlight Express and Pooten Forwarding, while the same Highlight Express box was £100 to the Visayas or Mindanao. Forex Cargo UK advertised a £50 medium box only when booked with a bigger box (promo valid for collections 1–31 October 2026, destination not stated), and LBC Express UK said its sea rate 'starts at' £50 for a medium box within Manila. A like-for-like comparison is the same box size, same addresses, quoted on the same day.
How long does a balikbayan box from the UK take to reach the Philippines?
Posted courier estimates checked on 19 October 2026: Balikbayan Box UK gives about 14 to 16 weeks by sea from the UK port to the Port of Manila (via Singapore), then about 3 to 7 days for Bureau of Customs release and 5 to 21 days for delivery depending on region. Pooten Forwarding estimates 10 to 12 weeks minimum to Central Luzon, plus 2 to 3 weeks for the Visayas and Mindanao. LT Express aims to deliver within 3 months after the box leaves the UK port by sea. Highlight Express, Forex Cargo UK and LBC Express UK post no UK-to-Philippines transit window.
How much can be sent in balikbayan boxes from the UK without Philippine duties?
Under Bureau of Customs CAO 01-2018 §4.2, the total FCA value of all balikbayan boxes sent by one sender in a calendar year shall not exceed ₱150,000, and §4.1 allows the duty- and tax-free privilege up to three times a year (master copy on customs.gov.ph, checked 19 October 2026). It is an annual total per sender, so three boxes worth ₱60,000 each come to ₱180,000 in one year. A shipment above the ₱10,000 de minimis value counts automatically as one availment. The rule is the same for every UK courier.
Is there a weight limit or a compensation cap on a UK balikbayan box?
Two UK couriers post weight terms on their own sites (checked 19 October 2026). Balikbayan Box UK states no weight limit but suggests a maximum of 80 kg for its Jumbo Max box, and Pooten Forwarding asks that no box exceed 50 kg. Compensation caps differ: LT Express prints 'a maximum of $150 per box' and Highlight Express '$250 per package' unless an insurance premium is declared and paid, neither naming the dollar; Forex Cargo UK USD 100 for a medium box up to USD 200 for a jumbo, or the actual loss if lower; Pooten £100 to £175 by box size for force-majeure loss.

Sources — checked, dated

  1. Balikbayan Box UK — homepage box sizes and 'from' prices (courier's own site) — checked
  2. Balikbayan Box UK — price list image, Greater London basic prices, 'valid from April 2025' (courier's own site) — checked
  3. Balikbayan Box UK — FAQ: transit, weight, sailing frequency (courier's own site) — checked
  4. Forex Cargo UK — homepage, October 2026 promo (courier's own site) — checked
  5. Forex Cargo UK — terms and conditions, §5 limitation of liability (courier's own site) — checked
  6. Highlight Express — balikbayan box prices by area (courier's own site) — checked
  7. Highlight Express — terms and conditions (courier's own site) — checked
  8. LBC Express UK — balikbayan box by air and sea (courier's own site) — checked
  9. LT Express — 2026 price list (courier's own site) — checked
  10. LT Express — FAQ: transit aims, liability (courier's own site) — checked
  11. Pooten Forwarding — full pricing by area (courier's own site) — checked
  12. Pooten Forwarding — FAQs: transit, weight, liability (courier's own site) — checked
  13. Post Office — Royal Mail International Economy, Philippines prices — checked
  14. Post Office — Parcelforce Worldwide globalpriority, Philippines prices — checked
  15. DTI-FTEB — accredited sea freight forwarders and their foreign agents, United Kingdom list, as of 31 August 2026 — checked
  16. Bureau of Customs — CAO 01-2018, Amended Rules on Consolidated Shipment of Balikbayan Boxes (master copy PDF) — checked
  17. Bureau of Customs FAQ id=40: what is not allowed in a balikbayan box (client portal knowledge base) — checked

Sourced & dated information — not financial or immigration advice. Our sources & ranking policy.